Solid Legal Protection Without the Expense

Call Us - 1800 608 088

Fair Work Australia National Employment Standards

Fair Work Australia National Employment Standards

Since the 1st January 2010, employees and employers in the new national workplace system are covered by the new National Employment Standards (NES) .

Under the NES, employees have certain minimum conditions. Together with pay rates in modern awards (which also generally take effect from 1 January 2010) and minimum wage orders, the NES is a safety net that cannot be altered to the disadvantage of the employee.

The 11 standards relate to the following matters:-

  • Maximum weekly hours;
  • Requests for flexible working arrangements;
  • Parental leave and related entitlements;
  • Annual leave;
  • Personal / carer’s leave and compassionate leave;
  • Offers and requests to convert from casual to permanent employment
  • Community service leave;
  • Long service leave;
  • Public holiday;
  • Notice of termination and redundancy pay; and
  • Fair Work Information Statement.

The Modern Awards and National Employment Standards work together to create minimum rights and entitlements for employees.  Employers must ensure that these minimum standards are being met.

Note, only some of these standards are applicable to casuals.

For more information on the NES go to Fair Work Online

or view the Fair Work Act